b:include data='blog' name='all-head-content'/> Federal Budget Proposals by House GOP or Obama - Neither is good enoughSojal Motivation
Breaking News
Loading...
Tuesday, January 25, 2011

Info Post
I'm going to start with this. The debt is at 14 Trillion. The deficit is over 1.3 trillion a year. It was a big issue in the 2008 elections and the democrats got their ass kicked.

Now all of a sudden, politicians are running their mouths about it. Wow. Obama, who broke Bush's records is talking about it and is supposed to mention it in his state of the union speech which I plan on skipping (Why would I want to see a politician run his mouth?).
From ABC


Pursuing a path of deficit reduction and government reform, President Obama will tonight in his State of the Union address call for a ban on earmarks and he will propose a five year budget freeze on non-security related discretionary spending, ABC News has learned.

The proposals come as the president prepares to tackle the deficit and debt and as he faces a House of Representatives in Republican hands, many of whose members include those affiliated with the Tea Party who may be willing to embrace both moves.

The president will propose some new spending in certain areas that address the speech’s theme of “How We Win the Future”: innovation, education and infrastructure. But those increases will be proposed within the context of a proposed partial budget freeze.

The FY 2011 budget was $3.8 trillion; $1.415 trillion of which was discretionary spending. The president's proposal would save, according to estmates, roughly $400 billion.

Talk is cheap, and Obama's record on spending speaks for itself. He talks a game and then breaks Bush's records. He's the worst resident of the White House ever in the history of this country when it comes to big spending. He signed the bills and didn't veto them. He supported them. Period. Even worse, a freeze on a 1.4 trillion dollar per year deficit still breaks Bush's records. His plan sucks.

But Obama isn't the only one who sucks on spending. Congress also sucks, and the latest from the Republicans isn't good enough either. It sucks less.

From UPI
WASHINGTON, Jan. 25 (UPI) -- The U.S. House of Representatives Tuesday passed a measure returning the budget to 2008 levels.

The House voted 256-165 along party lines to instruct House Budget Committee Chairman Paul Ryan, R-Wis., to set this year's budget at or below 2008 spending levels, The Hill reported.

That's not good enough. We don't need 2008 budget numbers. Those were also big deficits and on par with Bush's records. That sucks less. That's like picking the 2010 Detroit Lions over the Matt Millen era. It's an improvement but it is still below .500 and it still misses the playoffs.

We need a balanced budget, period, end of story. We need to reduce and eventually eliminate the $204 Billion a year in interest that is thrown away. We need to pay down the principal on this debt. We need to do so without raising taxes. Anything else is unacceptable. No gimmicks. No band-aids. Balanced budget.

0 comments:

Post a Comment